Dep init fails in my test package due to gruntwork-io/terratest constraints

I filed an issue in github, mods please delete this…

I am new to both Go and terratest and I got the beginnings of a helm test off the ground in an existing project with no other Go code. If I follow the directions here: GitHub - gruntwork-io/terratest: Terratest is a Go library that makes it easier to write automated tests for your infrastructure code. and run dep ensure -add github.com/gruntwork-io/terratest/modules/terraform I get “could not find project Gopkg.toml, use dep init to initiate a manifest”.

Then when I try to run dep init from my tests package directory, I get another error:

init failed: unable to solve the dependency graph: Solving failure: No versions of The Go Programming Language met constraints:
master: unable to update checked out version: fatal: reference is not a tree: 8e1b8d32e692162a446e97250c5d34f5a52efed6
: command failed: [git checkout 8e1b8d32e692162a446e97250c5d34f5a52efed6]: exit status 128
release-branch.go1.11: Could not introduce golang.org/x/crypto@release-branch.go1.11, as it is not allowed by constraint master from project GitHub - gruntwork-io/terratest: Terratest is a Go library that makes it easier to write automated tests for your infrastructure code..
release-branch.go1.12: Could not introduce golang.org/x/crypto@release-branch.go1.12, as it is not allowed by constraint master from project GitHub - gruntwork-io/terratest: Terratest is a Go library that makes it easier to write automated tests for your infrastructure code..

What am I missing?

Hi GwhorleyGH,

Here’s a simple example of getting this working…

$ mkdir myproj
$ cd my proj && mkdir test
$ cd test
$ vim example_test.go
    package test

import (
      "testing"
      "github.com/stretchr/testify/assert"
    )

func TestExample(t *testing.T) {
      t.Parallel()
      assert.Equal(t, "1", "1")
    }

$ dep init
$ dep ensure -add github.com/gruntwork-io/terratest/modules/terraform